Driving in Kentucky comes with a myriad of laws that serve to protect you and other drivers from harm. Being aware of these laws can prevent you from getting into trouble with law enforcement and facing fines or a lawsuit involving another driver or pedestrian. The consequences of repeatedly violating traffic laws may even result in having your license suspended or revoked in some cases. Before heading out to your next destination, get to know these laws.
Driving under the influence.
While driving under the influence is not legal in any state, Kentucky has an additional condition called “implied consent.” This means that if you refuse a breathalyzer test, you must pay a fine.
Texting while driving.
Although talking on the phone while driving is permissible for drivers 18 and older, reading, writing, or sending texts is illegal. Due to its risk for casualty, this is under “primary law,” which means officers can pull you over even if you are not violating any other law.
Not having car insurance. In the state of Kentucky, you are required to have car insurance. More specifically, you’ll need a bodily injury liability of $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident, and a property damage liability of $10,000 per accident. Always keep a copy of your proof of car insurance in your car at all times in case you get pulled over.
Leaving the scene of an accident, failure to stop and disclose identity.
If you leave the scene of an accident in Kentucky, you may face a hit and run charge which can land you in jail for up to a year and charge you a fine of $500.
Car Accident Attorney in Louisville, KY
Only an attorney can help you navigate the specifics of all of these laws and regulations. When you are in need of legal assistance in Kentucky, talk with an experienced attorney at Kaiman & Crahan who will help you understand your rights.